Skip to main content

Thurgood Marshall Scholarship

Apply for the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship (Click here)

About Thurgood

Thurgood Marshall (July 2, 1908 – January 24, 1993) was an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, serving from October 1967 until October 1991. Marshall was the Court's 96th justice and its first African-American justice. Before becoming a judge, Marshall was a lawyer who was best known for his high success rate in arguing before the Supreme Court and for the victory in Brown v. Board of Education, a 1954 decision that ruled that segregated public schools were unconstitutional. He served on the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit after being appointed by President John F. Kennedy. He was appointed as the Solicitor General by President Lyndon Johnson in 1965. President Johnson nominated him to the United States Supreme Court in 1967 and he was approved by the Senate.




This Year's Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Recipient

Miss Niyah Carpenter

Niyah Carpenter is a 2017-graduate of Withrow University High School in Cincinnati, Ohio with a 4.52 grade point average and ranked third in her senior class.

For the past two years, Miss Carpenter has worked part-time while taking Advanced Placement courses at Withrow, dualenrollment college courses through Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, in addition to being a student athlete and an avid participant in community service. She is also the captain of the Withrow girl’s track and field team and in 2016 was named the Most Outstanding Athlete where she achieved a school record for herself and helped lead her team to their second consecutive State Championship title.

When she is not on the track or working hard in the classroom, she enjoys being active in the community, having over 200 community service hours on record thus far. The volunteer activity she enjoys the most is volunteering with Bags of Hope Inc. where Niyah has helped for the past three years to organize food, clothing and blanket drives for the homeless in Central Kentucky.

Niyah thanks the National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice Scholarship Committee for her selection as the 2017 Thurgood Marshall Scholarship recipient.